Publikationen 2017 - Strukturbiologie

Bausewein, T., Mills, D. J., Langer, J. D., Nitschke, B., Nussberger, S., and Kühlbrandt, W.: Cryo-EM Structure of the TOM Core Complex from Neurospora crassa.
Cell 170 (4) 693-700 (2017).

Blees, A., Januliene, D., Hofmann, T., Koller, N., Schmidt, C., Trowitzsch, S., Moeller, A., and Tampé, R.: Structure of the human MHC-I peptide-loading complex.
Nature 4 pp., online, doi: 10.1038/nature24627 (2017).

Brandt, T., Mourier, A., Tain, L. S., Partridge, L., Larsson, N.-G., and Kühlbrandt, W.: Changes of mitochondrial ultrastructure and function during ageing in mice and Drosophila.
eLife 19 pp., online, doi: 10.7554/eLife.24662 (2017).

Daum, B., Vonck, J., Bellack, A., Chaudhuri, P., Reichelt, R., Albers, S.-V., Rachel, R., and Kühlbrandt, W.: Structure and in situ organisation of the of Pyrococcus furiosus archaellum machinery.
eLife 21 pp., online, doi: 10.7554/eLife.27470 (2017).

Diskowski, M., Mehdipour, A. R., Wunnicke, D., Mills, D. J., Mikusevic, V., Bärland, N., Hoffmann, J., Morgner, N., Steinhoff, H.-J., Hummer, G., Vonck, J., and Hänelt, I.: Helical jackknives control the gates of the double-pore K+ uptake system KtrABs.
eLife 21 pp., online, doi: 10.7554/eLife.24303 (2017).

Januliene, D., Manavalan, A., Ovesen, P. L., Pedersen, K.-M., Thirup, S., Nykjær, A., and Moeller, A.: Hidden Twins: SorCS Neuroreceptors Form Stable Dimers.
J. Mol. Biol. 429 (19) 2907-2917 (2017).

Kohler, R., Mooney, R. A., Mills, D. J., Landick, R., and Cramer, P.: Architecture of a transcribing-translating expressome.
Science 356 (6334) 194-197 (2017).

López-Alonso, J. P., Kaminishi, T., Kikuchi, T., Hirata, Y., Iturrioz, I., Dhimole, N., Schedlbauer,A., Hase, Y., Goto, S., Kurita, D., Muto, A., Zhou, S., Naoe, C., Mills, D. J., Gil-Carton, D., Takemoto, C., Himeno, H., Fucini, P., and Connell, S. R.: RsgA couples the maturation state of the 30S ribosomal decoding center to activation of its GTPase pocket.
Nucleic Acids Res. 45 (11) 6945-6959 (2017).

Mühleip, A. W., Dewar, C. E., Schnaufer, A., Kühlbrandt, W., and Davies, K. M.: In situ structure of trypanosomal ATP synthase dimer reveals a unique arrangement of catalytic subunits.
Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. USA 114 (5) 992-997 (2017).

Nürnberger, P., Reinhardt, H. M., Rhinow, D., Riedel, R., Werner, S., and Hampp, N. A.: Controlled growth of periodically aligned copper-silicide nanocrystal arrays on silicon directed by laser-induced periodic surface structures (LIPSS).
Appl. Surf. Sci. 420 70-76 (2017).

Scherr, J., Parey, K., Klusch, N., Murphy, B. J., Balser, S., Neuhaus, A., Zickermann, V., Kühlbrandt, W., Terfort, A., and Rhinow, D.: Self-Perforated Hydrogel Nanomembranes Facilitate Structural Analysis of Proteins by Electron Cryo-Microscopy.
ACS Nano 11 (6) 6467-6473 (2017).

Schulz, S., Wilkes, M., Mills, D. J., Kühlbrandt, W., and Meier, T.: Molecular architecture of the N‐type ATPase rotor ring from Burkholderia pseudomallei.
EMBO Rep. 18 (6) online, pp. 526-535; doi: 10.15252/embr.201643374 (2017).

Schumacher, D., Bergeler, S., Harms, A., Vonck, J., Huneke-Vogt, S., Frey, E., and Søgaard-Andersen: The PomXYZ Proteins Self-Organize on the Bacterial Nucleoid to Stimulate Cell Division.
Dev. Cell 41 299-314 (2017).

van Pee, K., Neuhaus, A., D'Imprima, E., Mills, D. J., Kühlbrandt, W., and Yildiz, Ö.: CryoEM structures of membrane pore and prepore complex reveal cytolytic mechanism of Pneumolysin.
eLife 22 pp., online, doi: 10.7554/eLife.23644 (2017).

Vonck, J. and Mills, D. J.: Advances in high-resolution cryo-EM of oligomeric enzymes.
Curr. Opin. Struct. Biol. 46 48-54 (2017).

Wilkes, M., Madej, M. G., Kreuter, L., Rhinow, D., Heinz, V., De Sanctis, S., Ruppel, S., Richter, R. M., Joos, F., Grieben, M., Pike, A. C. W., Huiskonen, J. T., Carpenter, E. P., Kühlbrandt, W., Witzgall, R., and Ziegler, C.: Molecular insights into lipid-assisted Ca2+ regulation of the TRP channel Polycystin-2.
Nat. Struct. Mol. Biol. 24 (2) 123-130  (2017).

Ph. D. Theses

Alexander Mühleip: Tomographic studies of mitochondrial membrane-shaping proteins.
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017

David Wöhlert: Structures and mechanism of secondary active transporters.
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.

Master's Theses

Natalie Bärland
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.

Jessica Michelle Devant
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.

Sebastian Kempf
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.

Oliver Stach
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.

Bachelor's Thesis

Clara Börnsen
Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, 2017.


Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik

Prof. Dr. Werner Kühlbrandt, Geschäftsführender Direktor
Abteilung für Strukturbiologie
Sekretariat: Monika Hobrack

Tel.: +49 (0) 69 6303-3001
Fax: +49 (0) 69 6303-3002
E-Mail: monika.hobrack(at)