IMPRS faculty

Max Planck Institute of Biophysics:

Prof. Ernst Bamberg: Electrophysiology, membrane transport mechanisms

Dr. Ulrich Ermler: Structure and mechanism of enzymes of the methanogenic pathway

Prof. Klaus Fendler: Transport mechanism of ion translocating membrane proteins

Dr. Gerhard Hummer: Theoretical biophysics of membrane proteins

Prof. Werner Kühlbrandt: Membrane protein structure by electron cryo-microscopy

Dr. Thomas Meier: Structure and function of ATP synthase

Prof. Hartmut Michel: Membrane protein structure by x-ray crystallography

Dr. Janet Vonck: Cryo-electron microscopy of protein complexes


Max Planck Institute for Brain Research:

Prof. Erin Schuman: Synaptic plasticity


Prof. Amparo Acker-Palmer: Cell biology and neuroscience

Prof. Volker Dötsch: Cell-free expression and NMR investigation of membrane proteins

Prof. Achilleas Frangakis: Cryo-electron tomography

Prof. Clemens Glaubitz: Membrane biophysics and solid-state NMR

Prof. Alexander Gottschalk: Molecular membrane biology and neurobiology

Prof. Bernd Ludwig: Molecular biology of respiratory membrane proteins

Prof. Martin Pos: Membrane transport machineries

Prof. Thomas Prisner: Electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) spectroscopy

Prof. Enrico Schleiff: Molecular cell biology of plants

Prof. Harald Schwalbe: Biomolecular NMR

Prof. Robert Tampé: Cellular biochemistry - Intracellular transport in immunity and virology


International Max Planck Research School

Dr. Janet Vonck

Max-Planck-Institut für Biophysik
Max-von-Laue-Str. 3
D-60438 Frankfurt am Main

Tel.: +49 69 6303-3004/ -3001
Fax: +49 69 6303-3002

E-Mail: Research.School(at)

PhD Program in Structure and Function of Biological Membranes