Research Profile Director Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Michel

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Michel
  • Studies of biochemistry at Tuebingen and Munich, 1969-1975
  • Ph D., Biochemistry, University of Wuerzburg, 1977
  • Postdoc, University of Wuerzburg, 1977-1979
  • Research associate and group leader,
    Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, 1979-1987
  • Habilitation, University of Munich, 1986
  • Director, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics,
    department of molecular membrane biology,
    since 1987
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Frankfurt,
    since 1989

Prizes and Awards (Selection):
1986 Leibniz Prize of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
1988 Otto-Bayer-Prize (with Johann Deisenhofer)
1988 Nobel Prize in Chemistry (with Johann Deisenhofer and Robert Huber)
2008  Keilin Medal of the British Biochemical Society
Honorary doctorates of the Universities of Wuerzburg and Bologna
Honorary and visiting professorships of the Imperial College (London),
IIT Madras at Chennai, IIT Mumbai, Tongji University Shanghai,
Jiaotong University Xian, Tsinghua University Beijing

Awarded Memberships (Selection):
Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften
corresponding member of the Rheinisch-Westfälische Akademie der
Wissenschaften and of the Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Goettingen
Foreign member of the Koninklijke Nederlandse Akademie van Wetenschapen,
of the National Academy of Sciences ot the U.S., of the Chinese Academy
of Sciences (Beijing) and of the Royal Society (London)

Offices (Selection):
President of the German Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Member of the German Science Council (2004-2010)
Member of the University Council of the University of Wuerzburg

Apart form his genuine interest in understanding membrane proteins Prof.
Michel is involved in the public discussion on biofuels. He considers
the usage of biofuels as a very inefficient means of using sun light
with many harmful consequences for the environment and climate.


Max Planck Institute of Biophysics

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Michel, Director
Department of Molecular Membrane Biology
Secretary: S. McCormack

Phone: +49 (0) 69 6303-1001
Fax: +49 (0) 69 6303-1002

E-mail: secretariat.michel(at)