Members of the Department - Theoretical Biophysics

Project leader

Dr. Jürgen Köfinger
  • ■ Inferential structure determination
  • ■ Data integration
  • ■ SWAXS

Postdoctoral Fellows - alphabetical order

Bahrami Amir
Dr. Amir Bahrami
Dr. Ramachandra Bhaskara
Dr. Jakob Bullerjahn
  • Dr. Jakob Bullerjahn
  • email: jakob.bullerjahn(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Modelling and analysis of single-molecule localization microscopy experiments
  • ■ Theory of forcible bond ruptur
Dr. Roberto Covino
  • Dr. Roberto Covino
  • email: roberto.covino(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Protein-membrane interactions, diffusive models, machine-learning and MD simulations
Dr. Ahmadreza Mehdipour
  • Dr. Ahmadreza Mehdipour
  • email: ahmadreza.mehdipour(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Mechanism of transport in membrane channels and transporters
  • ■ Protein-lipid interaction, protein-ligand interaction
Dr. Katrin Reichel
  • Dr. Katrin Reichel
  • email: katrin.reichel(at)

  • Research topics:
  • De novo structure prediction of membrane proteins
  • ■ Inferential structure determination using NMR and DEER data
Dr. Emanuele Rossini
Dr. Mateusz Sikora
Dr. Lukas Stelzl
Dr. Fereshte Taherian

Ph.D. Students - alphabetical order

Sören von Bülow



Michael Gecht
Marcel Heinz
Alfredo Jost López
  • Alfredo Jost López
  • email: alfredo.jost(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Re-parametrising and developing force fields and models for protein-protein interactions
Max Linke
  • Max Linke
  • email: max.linke(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Novel approaches to study diffusion in molecular systems
  • ■ Simulations of protein-protein interactions using coarse-grained models
Laura Schulz
Marc Siggel
Martin Vögele
  • Martin Vögele
  • email: martin.voegele(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Self-assembly in biomimetic membrane systems
  • ■ Finite-size effects on anisotropic and confined diffusion
Judith Warnau

Master Students - alphabetical order

Stephanie Linker
Patrick Quoika
  • Patrick Quoika
  • email: patrick.quoika(at)

  • Research topics:
  • ■ Coarse-grained simulations of dense protein solutions
  • ■ SAXS profiles of dense protein solutions


Max Planck Institute of Biophysics

Prof. Dr. Gerhard Hummer, Managing Director
Department of Theoretical Biophysics
Assistant to the Director: Christina Brandt

Phone: +49 (0) 69 6303-2501
E-mail: office-hummer(at)

Emmy Noether Research Group:

Group Leader

Max Planck Tandem Group:

Group Leader