Awards & Honors

Awards & Honors

September 01, 2021

Werner Kühlbrandt, Director of the Department of Structural Biology, receives this honor for his outstanding scientific life's work
(image source and creator: Markus Scholz for the Leopoldina)
Six scientists are honoured in "recognition of their extraordinary contributions to the discovery and development of optogenetics".
from the GBM (Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie e. V.) more
from the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation more
from the Gertrud Reemtsma Foundation (until 2019: K. J. Zülch Prize) more

2012: Walther Flemming Award for Martin Beck

German Society for Cell Biology (DGZ). Subject matter: Compositional remodeling of the human nuclear pore complex.

2010: Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics for Gerhard Hummer

This prize has been established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. In 2010 for Gerhard Hummer together with Yigong Shi, Beijing, China.

2010: Wiley Prize for Ernst Bamberg

The Wiley Prize in Biomedical Sciences recognizes contributions that have opened new fields of research or have advanced novel concepts or their applications in a particular biomedical discipline.

2010: Karl Heinz Beckurts Prize for Ernst Bamberg

Karl Heinz Beckurts Foundation

2009: Stifterverbandspreis for Ernst Bamberg

The Stifterverband is the joint initiative of companies and foundations that is the only one to provide holistic advice, networking and support in the fields of education, science and innovation.

2008: Keilin Memorial Medal for Hartmut Michel

from British Biochememical Society

1990: Grand Cross of Merit for Hartmut Michel

From the Federal Republic of Germany

1989: Bijvoet Medal for Hartmut Michel

The Bijvoet Medal of the Bijvoet Centre for Biomolecular Research is awarded to scientists with an outstanding contribution to furthering the fields of biomolecular chemistry and/or structural biology. Utrecht University, The Netherlands
The scientist were awarded "for the determination of the three-dimensional structure of a photosynthetic reaction centre." more

1988: Otto Bayer Prize for Hartmut Michel

Together with with Johann Deisenhofer
The Oswalt Foundation is an institution of Frankfurt citizens and promotes biophysical research and its application in the fields of medicine and medical technology. Link: more

1986: Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize for Hartmut Michel

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize from the German Research Foundation (DFG) is the most important research award in Germany.

1986: American Chemical Society (ACS) Biological Physics Prize for Hartmut Michel

together with Johann Deisenhofer

1986: Otto Klung Weberbank Prize for Hartmut Michel

Go to Editor View