International Projects

The Max Planck Institute of Biophysics receives funds from internationally renowned funding agencies, including the European Research Council (ERC).

EU Projects

European Research Council (ERC) Grants

Complex Assembly – The birth of protein complexes


Complex Assembly – The birth of protein complexes  

Link to Cordis database. Principal Investigator: Martin Beck, Molecular Sociology
Duration: 1.2.2018 – 31.1.2023

Mosalaganti S, Kosinski J, Albert S, Schaffer M, Strenkert D, Salomé PA, Merchant SS, Plitzko JM, Baumeister W, Engel BD, Beck M. (2018). In situ architecture of the algal nuclear pore complex. Nat Commun 9(1) doi: 10.1038/s41467-018-04739-y Becher I, Andrés-Pons A, Romanov N, Stein F, Schramm M, Baudin F, Helm D, Kurzawa N, Mateus A, Mackmull MT, Typas A, Müller CW, Bork P, Beck M, Savitski MM. (2018). Pervasive Protein Thermal Stability Variation during the Cell Cycle. Cell 173(6) doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2018.03.053


Other International Research Grants

Chan Zuckerberg Foundation DAF: Visual proteomics becomes dynamic

Investigators: Martin Beck, Gerhard Hummer, Beata Turoňová

Michael J. Fox Foundation for Parkinson's
Research: Mechanisms of mitochondrial damage control by PINK1 and Parkin

Investigator: Gerhard Hummer in cooperation with Dr. James Hurley, University of California Berkeley

International Cooperations

Bi- and multinational collaborations include: 

  • Centre Hospitalier National d'Ophtalmologie des Quinze-Vingts, Paris, France 
  • Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, P.R. China 
  • European Molecular Biology Laboratory - EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany 
  • ESRF, Grenoble, France 
  • Friedrich Miescher Institute, Basel, Switzerland 
  • Icahn School of Medicine, New York, NY, USA 
  • Institut de Biologie Physico-Chimique, Paris, France
  • Institut Pasteur, Paris, France 
  • Kyushu Institute of Technology, Iizuka, Japan 
  • MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK
  • National Institute of Food and Drug Control, Beijing, P.R. China 
  • Rutherford Appelton Laboratory, Harwell, UK 
  • Swiss Light Source SLS Villigen, Switzerland
  • CNRS, Montpellier, France 
  • National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD, USA

Collaborations with international universities:

  • Aarhus University, Aarhus, Denmark 
  • ETH Zurich, Switzerland 
  • Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel 
  • Imperial College, London, UK 
  • Institute of Oceanography, Qingdao, P.R. China 
  • ITQB, Lisboa, Portugal 
  • King’s College London, London, UK 
  • Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan 
  • Nagoya University, Japan 
  • Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA 
  • Sichuan University, Chengdu, P.R. China 
  • Tianjin University, Tianjin, P.R. China 
  • University of Bristol, UK 
  • University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA 
  • University of Crete, Heraklion, Greece 
  • University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK
  • University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK 
  • University of Exeter, UK
  • University of Florence, Florence, Italy 
  • University of Illinois, Urbana, IL, USA 
  • Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Lisboa, Portugal 
  • University of Otago, Dunedin, New Zealand 
  • Université de Paris-Sud, Paris, France 
  • Université de Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France 
  • University Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel 
  • University of Tokyo, Japan
  • University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA 
  • University of Zurich, Switzerland
Go to Editor View